Circles

No witch is bound or allows herself to be bound in a circle. There is no widdershins or deosil, the spiral has no beginning or end, no start, no finish, no left no right.

The witch doesn’t create barriers.

~ by sandra on November 19, 2005.

2 Responses to “Circles”

  1. I find it interesting that you make references in carious places to what is commonly labelled as Northern kennings, that is those things that feature in Northern tradition and mythology, such as the fylgja fetch and Seidr work. Do you find that there is a great comparison in this and the shadow path? I am currently struggling with shedding the wiccan learnings and finding a balance between shamanic/heathen/wiccan things I have learnt. I say struggling because I am finding my path between these things have shed the wiccan nonsense. I am finding that, hidden within the Northern stuff is a lot of what Witch means, including seidr and spirits. However, there is a lot of nonsense written about this as well.
    You seem to be coming from where I am headed, if that makes sense.

  2. Hello Ian,

    Yes, I have found that Northern English traditions are one of the closest traditions to what I view as traditional witchery. It is one of the more documented traditions. I have discovered others on my travels but they are individuals rather than better-known traditions.

    When I say the Northern trads are ‘closest’, I don’t mean to suggest every practice and belief is traditional witchery as I class it, but simply that their ways are some of the closest to my own.

    And yes, there is nonsense written on this as well.

    I tend to see that displaced witches, or witch sympathisers, tend to lean towards heathenism or shamanism, as these are the two better documented ways that are closer to old ways. Many lean towards these after visiting Wicca.

Leave a Reply

 
